‘Mirror Worlds’ Revisited: Did Software Put the Universe in a Shoebox Yet?: Enterprise 2.0 Blog: News, Coverage, and Commentary

Excerpt below: full story at link below

These ideas were further expressed in Mirror Worlds. Gerlernter said he was inspired by the ponds within the villages he saw around Cape Cod, reflecting the surrounding churches and buildings:

“The idea began with the idea of delocalized information floating out there so that I could look into my computer and without knowing where to look, what file on which computer, I can sort of tune in the information I wanted the way I tuned in CNN on a TV. I don’t have to know where CNN is and I don’t have to know on what operating system my TV is running, or the software on my cable box — I just tune it in and I assume it’s there.

“So this is going to the cybersphere and the real world will be mirrored on the surface of software essentially. Instead of having to penetrate the real world, go places, deal with institutions in their real-world manifestations, which involves a lot of trouble and a lot of time and a lot of energy, in some cases necessary and desirable but not always, I’ll be able to tune in any part of reality I want.”

via The FASTForward Blog » ‘Mirror Worlds’ Revisited: Did Software Put the Universe in a Shoebox Yet?: Enterprise 2.0 Blog: News, Coverage, and Commentary.

Leave a comment

Filed under aplink

Leave a Reply

