Second Life: A Place to Make Lives – itsReal

Imagine…….. being suddenly able to walk, to communicate, to work and to socialize, not only locally but globally. That is how life has become for a new friend of mine through the Reality of Second Life.

Below is Niels first English article, the full entry can be found at the link below
There is more than just the ability to walk

Written by Niels Schuddeboom
Monday, 02 April 2007

banner2.jpg

Technology has changed my life and it still does. Without my computer, I wouldn’t have been able to write or work. The machine gives me the ability to communicate and let my creative juices flow. It is making it possible to function on the same level as others and to get equally rewarded for it.

Since mid-2006 I’m walking around in the virtual world of Second Life. Literally being able to walk is a very strange experience for someone using a wheelchair in real life for more than 20 years now. Though I won’t let SL jeopardize my real-life social life, I really have to say it is beneficial to walk. In real life, many people tend to think that I’m mentally retarded, in second life I can’t be judged by my wheels, as long as I don’t use a wheelchair. As soon as I do, mechanisms of social interaction work exactly the same.

Before I will explain what I find most interesting about Second Life, I would like to take the opportunity to react to some of the criticism of the past months, which is in my opinion mainly based on ignorance. Many people say Second Life is a dull and slow experience, with bad graphics and such. They call it an unhealthy hype. Well, in some ways, they are right. But every hype comes with unhealthy side effects and we all tend to forget that the system is in its infancy just like the Internet of today once was. There once was a time without images and video-sharing services, and there once was a time that we all called people using the Web ‘nerds without social habits’. M

More…. click HERE

2 Comments

Filed under authors, avatar, blogging, Blogroll, business, career, collaboration, connecting, employment, Events, executive, experience, health, internet, itsreal, life, living, marketing, Networking, PR, Public Relations, real, second life, secondlife, secondlife.com, SL, social networking, social networks, virtual worlds

2 responses to “Second Life: A Place to Make Lives – itsReal

  1. ollie

    this a reaction

  2. Pingback: N2Y4: Second Life and Disabilities

Leave a Reply

